EpicJuicers is reader-supported. We may receive commissions when purchasing products through our links. Learn more

Does Hummus Have Dairy? Why or why not?


Does Hummus Have Dairy? I don’t know about you, but when I was a kid, the only hummus I had ever heard of was the kind with tahini in it. It wasn’t until my older sister went to college and started making her hummus without tahini that I even knew what hummus could be like.

Growing up, she would make all sorts of food from scratch – including her own homemade dairy-free “hummus.”

Before we get into does hummus have dairy, does hummus have gluten, or does hummus contain eggs, let’s go over some basics:

Does Hummus Have Dairy

What is Hummus?

Hummus is a delicious buttery concoction made from mashed chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, and garlic. It is popular in the Middle East and Mediterranean regions.

It’s versatile as well – spread it on sandwiches or pita bread for lunchtime snacks!

Hummus can be eaten with vegetables like carrots (hummus carrot sticks) to make an even healthier snack. Add soy sauce if you’re feeling adventurous- the sweet flavor complements hummus really nicely.

How to Make Hummus?

Hummus is a healthy and delicious dish that can be made quickly using just four ingredients. Not only will you learn how to make it in this post, but I’ll also share with you my favorite hummus recipe!
Ingredients (2 servings)

  • 1 drained 15oz chickpeas/garbanzo beans
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice or lime juice
  • ⅓ cup tahini sauce or 1 tablespoon of ground cumin
  • ½ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons crushed garlic
  1. The first step to making fantastic hummus is selecting your favorite ingredients, whether it’s tahini or cumin.
  2. You need a high-speed blender to process the mixture until smooth, then add in olive oil.
  3. Oil serves as an important source of fat for this dish so don’t forget about that!
  4. Give everything another whirl with more salt if necessary before transferring into containers for storage- Or you can serve immediately on fresh warm pita bread!
  5. And some lemon juice.

Does Hummus Have Dairy?

If you’re wondering does hummus has milk or does humus contain cheese; then the answer is no!

The word “hummus” actually comes from Arabic, meaning to mix and tahini (a type of sesame paste) has a distinctive flavor that cannot be substituted with anything else.

Hummus does not traditionally include any dairy products in it.

Hummus

Dairy-free alternatives:

  • Greek yogurt – add a bit of Greek yogurt instead of tahini.
  • Cashew cream – cashews blended up into a creamy paste do not have any dairy products in them, so you could use these instead of using milk/cream.
  • Almond milk.
  • Coconut milk.
  • Olive oil or avocado oil instead of butter/vegetable shortening (still not dairy-free)

This is what my sister does for her hummus recipe. She adds a can of chickpeas, some tahini, and olive oil to the food processor, along with salt and pepper. After that, she blends until smooth, adding water if necessary to get desired consistency.

Depending on how you like your taste, you could add other ingredients like lemon juice, onion powder, or even garlic powder, depending on how you want your taste!

Related Read: What’s the shelf life of Hummus?

How do you make hummus without tahini?

Tahini is a traditional ingredient in hummus and does not have dairy. Tahini is made from ground sesame seeds (sesame paste) with some oil, lemon juice, salt, garlic, or other flavorings added, making it an essential component to the dish.

If you want to avoid tahini altogether, there are two options:

Option One:

Follow this classic avocado chickpea dip recipe that uses olive oil and either water or vegetable broth instead of extra virgin olive oil.

It also adds zucchini into the mix for additional flavor and texture but be aware that without tahini, you will end up with a creamier consistency than traditional hummus unless adding more liquid to thin out your dish.

Option Two:

Follow this recipe for traditional hummus made without tahini and spiced with a combination of paprika, cumin, coriander, cardamom, and fennel instead.

This does not have the same rich flavor as tahini but is still delicious in its own right!

Can you make hummus without chickpeas?

Yes, you can! Hummus is very versatile and does not have to be made with chickpeas.

This Roasted Red Pepper Avocado Hummus recipe does not use chickpeas but instead features roasted red peppers for a rich smoky flavor that pairs nicely with the avocado.

The possibilities are endless for hummus flavors – make sure there is some legume or bean base added for it to qualify as “hummus.”

Is Hummus Gluten-free?

Although most hummus is gluten-free, many commercial brands add flavorings that contain gluten. If you want to buy a container of pre-made hummus at the grocery store and ensure it’s entirely safe for those with celiac disease or another form of wheat intolerance, look for “gluten-free” on the ingredients list before buying anything else.

Read More: What Does Original Hummus Taste Like?

Does Tahini Contain Gluten

Does Hummus Contain Eggs?

Eggs in hummus are a no! Hummus does not contain eggs.

Hummus does come with its own set of health benefits and is low in calories while still being hearty enough to be considered as dinner or lunch on occasion – so it does make for an easy go-to dish when you’re looking for something to whip up.

Does Tahini Contain Gluten?

Yes, tahini does contain wheat, and so if you do not tolerate gluten, then avoid items containing tahini unless they are labeled “gluten-free,” such as Sabra Tzatziki.

Is hummus dairy-free? Yes, it does not contain any dairy, so it is a good option for those who do not tolerate lactose or have sensitivities to milk products.

The Best Chickpea Substitutes:

In addition to using chickpeas in a hummus recipe, you can use the following legumes:

  • Black beans
  • Cannellini beans
  • Red kidney/white beans
  • Chickpeas (garbanzo)

Some recipes may call for tahini, but it does not have to be included.

A healthy snack anyone can enjoy is hummus, which you can make yourself at home and eat while watching a movie!

I hope you enjoyed the blog post on does hummus has dairy or not. I am more than happy to answer any questions or requests and will get back in touch as soon as possible.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DMCA.com Protection Status
Scroll to Top